North Carolina Window Tint Law
The North Carolina window tint law regulates the tinting of auto windows. It applies to all passenger vehicles, including sedans, convertibles, hardtops, station vehicles, hatchbacks, and SUVs. The law permits non-reflective tinting on windshields that exceed an AS-1 line, but does not permit tinting on the back side windows and rear windows to 35 percent of the total window area.
Medical exemptions and special tint
Medical exemptions to tinting for windows are allowed in certain states and must be presented when applying. Generally, you must present a signed document from your doctor that certifies that you have a disease or medical disorder that prevents your safe driving while using an appropriate tint. The certificate should be kept in your vehicle at all times.
Medical exemptions are easy to obtain and renewed every year. A doctor's recommendation must be included with the application and the vehicle must be displayed in an easily viewed area. Medical exemptions cannot be granted for those who have been found guilty of drug or violent criminal acts. For instance, in North Carolina, drivers can receive medical exemptions from window tints if they suffer from an illness that is medically ascribed to them.
North Carolina has special laws concerning tinting. This includes the use of tints that are more than 20 percent. It is the Division of Motor Vehicles refers tinting less than twenty percent to their Medical Review Unit for review. The people who qualify for medical exemptions are allowed to tint their cars at a higher percentage, as they comply with the law. The tint must be located in the left-hand side of the rear window. Failure to do so can result in a $200 fine.
To obtain a medical exemption for window tint for North Carolina, you must present a valid medical exemption certificate from your doctor. The medical statement must state that the minimal percentage of light transmittance and must also contain an expiration date. Your physician is also able to provide you with an affidavit of your medical or physical condition. If your doctor approves your exemption, then you need to ensure that you keep your medical exemption document on display in your vehicle in all times.
Certain states do not offer medical exemptions to tinting windows. You might be required to show a signed letter from an approved doctor that states that you suffer from an illness that blocks you from safely driving. However, it's important to note that you will be required to show your certificate before the Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services prior to being able to make use of window tints in your vehicle.
A medical condition must be accompanied by a permit
For North Carolina, drivers with some type of light sensitivity are able to obtain an medical exemption permit that permits them to get an darker shade of their windows. The first step is to apply for the Drivers Medical Evaluation Program and request their doctor to complete the necessary paperwork. The permit is valid for five years. If you want to extend it for another five years, you need to obtain a new medical certificate from a registered physician or any other medical professional. You cannot have more than one medical exception permit at a time.
If you're in need of a medical exemption permit for tinting your windows then you should visit the Department of Motor Vehicles or the Department of Transportation to obtain one. The DMV requires a certificate from a medical professional stating the tint isn't detrimental for your wellbeing. The letter should be on the letterhead of your doctor and carried in the vehicle. The letter must also mention your medical condition.
A medical exception permit is valid for five years however it is able to be renewed by the DMEP in the event that the condition continues to persist. A medical exception permit is valid for only one vehicle and permits the tint to cover a specific window. The permit also provides instructions on how to apply the tint as well as guidelines to apply it.
A medical permit for exceptions in North Carolina must be applied to the Division of Motor Vehicles' Medical Review Program. After being approved and you have been issued the medical exceptions sticker on the rear of your vehicle. Failure to display the sticker will result in the possibility of a fine as high as $200.
A medical exception permit is required for window tint on the state of North Carolina for individuals with specific medical ailments. This group of people should obtain an DOT form 432020 with their physician before July 4 the 4th of July, 2012. It is possible to apply for an alternative form by contacting the Office of Vehicle and Motor Carrier Services.
The legally-required tint of windows that is legal in North Carolina depends on how much light is able to pass through the window of your vehicle. A lower VLT is a darker tint, while a higher VLT means more light.
Legality of tints with special characteristics in North Carolina
The legality of tints that are special for special tints in North Carolina depends on the degree of light transmission that it blocks. This measurement, referred to as the VLT will differ between states and is based on the kind of vehicle you have. If the lower VLT is, the darker the tint , and a higher VLT permits more light to flow through.
For North Carolina, the highest amount of tint permitted is 35%. In North Carolina, it is prohibited for passenger vehicles to apply greater than that. But, this is lower for trucks and vans. The most tint is permitted for driver's windows. This level of tint can hinder the visibility of the vehicle, while increasing its privacy. However, it isn't legal to install a higher level of tint in the back windows of a vehicle that is multi-purpose.
If you are suffering from a medical problem, you may be eligible for a medical exemption permission from the North Carolina DMV, which permits you to put a darker tint to your windows. To qualify, you need to go through the Drivers Medical Evaluation Program (DMEP) and then have your physician complete the required paperwork. Once you've been issued the permit, it's valid for five years. After that, you must renew your permit with a physician. Furthermore, you shouldn't have more than one permit for your vehicle.
There are some exceptions to this policy. Cars hired as taxicabs, limos, or schoolbus are not subject to tinting conditions. Other vehicles, like ambulances and motor homes, may be tinted, but they must have at least 20 percent reflective. They should also be fitted with two side mirrors. Special tinting is legal legally in North Carolina if you meet all other requirements mentioned above. But, it is important to remember that NC law regarding tint is very strict and can result in the possibility of a fine up to $200.
When you are choosing the tint for your windows, make sure you follow the guidelines of the manufacturer for your car. Although the likelihood of being caught aren't high, it's always better to follow the rules of the road and avoid the inconvenience of a repair warrant.
Enforcement of the law
A window tinting law from North Carolina restricts the tinting of most windows, except those on the windshield, which is exempted. The tint must not exceed five inches, and it must not reflect. Vehicles with tinting above the AS-1 limit are also exempt like motor homes and ambulances. Additionally, tinting the back windows of SUVs is permissible, as long as it is not reflective.
Within the State of North Carolina, the law is enforced by local authorities. The legal proportion of the tint can be 35% however the actual tint percentage can go as high as 20%. If you go over this amount the driver will be given a violation notice , and you will have to take off your tint or pay an additional fine. In certain instances you could even end up losing your license if fail to comply with the directions.
Other regulations include the display of a medical exclusion sticker on the lower left-hand part of the window at the rear. In the event of not displaying this sticker, it could be punished with a fine of $200. If your car is equipped with tinted rear windows it is also required to install twin side mirrors. As in every other state, you cannot choose a tint which is too dark or blocks your view.
In North Carolina, violating the window tint law is an class 3 misdemeanor. In 2013, more than 12,500 charges were brought against people who violated this law. While you might want darker shades, keep in mind that the law protects other drivers and pedestrians, and makes it easier for law enforcement officers to identify you in the case of an accident.
There are exceptions to the window tint laws for North Carolina for drivers with medical conditions. In such cases, a medical exemption permit can be obtained from the NC DMV. It can last five years and isn't transferable. The permit should be displayed on the vehicle's windows while the driver is in the.
Other exemptions for the tinting laws in North Carolina include certain commercial vehicles that are not deemed safe for public transportation. For instance, a school bus can be tinted; however, motor homes will not. The latter group includes property-hauling vehicles, including semi-trailers , and trailers that are drawn behind motor vehicles. Limousines and police vehicles are permitted to feature dark windows. In addition to passenger cars multi-purpose vehicles, such as pickup trucks and minivans can be outfitted with dark side and back glass.
Address: 1122 US-130, Robbinsville Twp, NJ 08691, United States
Phone: +1 609-208-3901